MUSL Names Pennsylvania Lottery’s Drew Svitko As FY25 Board President

The Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) appointed its latest Board President last week.

Pennsylvania Lottery Executive Director Drew Svitko was unanimously elected by the MUSL Board of Directors to handle the position for fiscal year 2025.

Svitko’s term began on July 1.

Prior to his latest appointment, Svitko was responsible for one of the nation’s top lottery draw games. He served as MUSL’s Chair of the Powerball Product Group from 2020-22.

Svitko pushing Pennsylvania Lottery to new heights

Svitko has decades of experience in the lottery industry.

His most recent run comes as being the Executive Director of the Pennsylvania Lottery since early 2015.

He has spent the last 16 years with Pennsylvania, but has experience with Scientific Games and Oberthur Gaming Technologies, too.

Svitko also had eight additional years with the Pennsylvania Lottery from 1997-2005.

Along with his previous roles with MUSL, he served as the Chair of the Development Committee from 2019-21.

In a press release, Svitko expressed his desire to continue to drive MUSL to the next level:

“The national games category has seen exceptional growth in the past two to three years, and it underscores MUSL’s commitment to support member lotteries with new development initiatives. MUSL has established a bold product development timeline with exciting new offerings. Lottery stakeholders should buckle up. It’s going to be another year of ‘foot, gas, go.’”

Under Svitko’s watch, the Pennsylvania Lottery has approached $5 billion in sales during the last three years, including just over the mark in FY21-22.

The Pennsylvania online lottery has seen steady growth under his leadership, as well. After hitting $872.5 million in sales last fiscal year, the state projected nearly $1 billion in eInstant sales for FY23-24.

New MUSL FY25 board announced

Along with the appointment of Svitko, Iowa Lottery CEO Matt Strawn was named MUSL Board Vice President. Tennessee Lottery President and CEO Rebecca Paul will serve as MUSL Board Secretary for the new fiscal year.

Previous MUSL President David Barden, the CEO of the New Mexico Lottery, will participate as a board officer.

Here’s a look at the remaining appointments for the new fiscal year:

MUSL Board Officers

  • President – Drew Svitko, Pennsylvania
  • Vice President – Matt Strawn, Iowa
  • Secretary – Rebecca Paul, Tennessee
  • Past President – David Barden, New Mexico

Product Group Chairs

  • Powerball Chair – Matt Strawn, Iowa
  • Powerball Vice Chair – Gwen Dean, New York
  • M2G2 Chair – Mary Harville, Kentucky
  • M2G2 Vice Chair – Mark Furcolo, Rhode Island
  • Lotto America Chair – Helene Keeley, Delaware
  • Lotto America Vice Chair – Lance Gaebe, North Dakota
  • 2by2 Chair – Brian Rockey, Nebraska
  • 2by2 Vice Chair – Stephen Durrell, Kansas
  • National for Life Chair – Tom Seaver, Colorado
  • National for Life Vice Chair – James Carey, New Jersey

MUSL established two new product groups over the last year.

The Fast Play Product Group is focused on prepping the launch of its inaugural product, Jackpot USA, this September.

A National for Life Product Group was also recently formed to explore potential growth in the “For Life” category.


Photo by Talaj via Shutterstock
Graphic from MUSL

About the Author

Drew Ellis

Drew Ellis

Lead Writer
A member of Catena Media since 2020, Drew Ellis is the Lead Writer at PlayiLottery, where he handles coverage of the online and retail lottery industry in the US. He previously spearheaded news content at PlayMichigan, where he covered one of the most prominent online lottery industries in the US — among the many other aspects of Michigan's sprawling iGaming market. You can email him at [email protected].
Back To Top