Play online lottery in Pennsylvania and Michigan now!

Oregon Lottery Receives International Responsible Gaming Certification

Posted - Updated

This month, the Oregon Lottery was again recognized by the World Lottery Association (WLA) for achieving the highest certification level among its Responsible Gaming programs: WLA Level 4 Certification.

As the highest level of responsible gaming certification recognized internationally, the WLA Level Four certification is a prestigious achievement for the Oregon Lottery. The Lottery has earned this distinction as one of the first eight lotteries in the United States to achieve this level of recognition.

WLA Level 4 Certification Criteria

Organizations must first apply to the WLA for their programs to be reviewed for certification. A panel of corporate social responsibility professionals reviews each submission as part of the WLA Independent Assessment Panel (IAP) according to WLA certification program elements, which include:

  • Research
  • Employee program
  • Retailer program
  • Game design
  • Remote gaming channels
  • Advertising and marketing communications
  • Player education
  • Treatment referral
  • Reporting and measurement
  • Stakeholder engagement

Following the IAP review, the Oregon Lottery received a commendation for the quality of the organization’s responsible gaming programs over the last three years. Additionally, the IAP made note of its unique approach to ensuring players are afforded responsible gaming support as part of their participation in the Oregon Lottery programs and games.

Upon announcement of the certification, Barry Pack, the director of the Oregon Lottery, reiterated the organization’s approach to responsible gaming, saying, “This Level 4 recertification by the World Lottery Association recognizes the Oregon Lottery’s best-in-class responsible and problem gambling programs. Our commitment to responsible gaming is deeply embedded in every aspect of our business.”

Lotteries that receive a WLA Level Four certification must demonstrate that responsible gaming principles are part of day-to-day operations and that they are continuously strengthening efforts to promote responsibility among players.

About the World Lottery Association

Recognized as the global authority on the lottery business, the WLA advocates for 152 lotteries around the world, which span more than 80 countries on six continents.

Placing corporate social responsibility and responsible gaming as its prime focus, the WLA outlines a certification program and operational framework that is considered the gold standard among lottery organizations.

Privacy Policy